Rangers penalty retake snub explained as IFAB regulation is in focus following James Tavernier’s miss.
Rangers‘ penalty from yesterday’s 3-1 triumph over Hibs was not retaken due to the IFAB’s encroaching rule. When John Souttar was clattered by Nectaris Triantis, the captain was given the opportunity to score from the penalty spot, but Hibs custodian David Marshall saved the defender’s effort. Scott Wright went on to score the rebound, but VAR ruled it out because Wright entered the box before the initial shot was taken.

Many punters expected Tavernier to attempt a second penalty, but the game’s regulations say that penalties are only retaken when there is attacking encroachment. Not if it is saved or missed, resulting in a free kick for the opposing team.
When both an attacking and defensive player is encroaching, the rules require that a penalty be retaken regardless of the outcome. A re-take will also be allowed if a defensive player is in the box and the penalty is missed.